Central Bank of Luxembourg


– Advertisement –

About Central Bank of Luxembourg

The Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL) is the monetary authority of Luxembourg and a member of the Eurosystem and the European System of Central Banks.

It was established on 1 June 1998 in accordance with the provisions of the law of 22 April 1998. The BCL is currently governed by its Organic Law of 23 December 1998, as amended several times. The BCL was set up at the same time as the  European Central Bank (ECB). Their inception represents the outcome of long efforts pertaining to the creation of the European Economic and Monetary Union (see Eurosystem).

The state of Luxembourg is the sole shareholder of the BCL’s capital for an amount of 175 million euro (25 million euro as of 31 December 2008). The capital increase was realised by incorporation of reserves amounting to 150 million euro as of 1 June 2009. The BCL, however, is independent, a fact that is provided for in its Organic Law and in the Treaty… Continue reading about Central Bank of Luxembourg here.

Website: https://www.bcl.lu/


You May Also Like

Monetary Authority of Macao
Central Bank of Liberia
– Advertisement –